/// Pinterest Now Tracks Everybody By Default, But You Can Opt Out

July 26, 2013  |  All Things Digital


Pinterest will now compile profiles of people who visit sites with that contain Pinterest buttons, so their social bookmarking experience can be automatically personalized around interests that correspond to those sites. This will happen both for people who are currently logged into the Pinterest Web site, and for people who’ve never even joined Pinterest, via anonymized tracking. “So if you’re planning a party and have gone to lots of party sites recently, we’ll try to suggest boards to make your event a hit,” Pinterest software engineer Ke Chen explained in a blog post . “Pin It” buttons and other Pinterest widgets are used on just about every page of major sites including Amazon, eBay, Nordstrom, REI and Bon Appetit. Their original purpose was so that that shoppers and other users could easily save items they come across to their Pinterest boards. Since Pinterest sends lots of traffic back to the sites, the buttons are all over the place.

Follow this link:
Pinterest Now Tracks Everybody By Default, But You Can Opt Out



Leave a Reply